top of page

Box dye vs professional color.


I know I am waaay behind on this post, but some pretty exciting things have been happening lately! I started taking business classes and I'm so excited about future changes in the salon! I hope everyone is as excited about this as I am!

Today I'm going to break down some of the differences between box dye and a professional salon color service.

Box dye is formulated for everyone.

When you buy that box of dye to lighten your blonde hair a little for the summer, it was also made to work for someone with much darker hair. Since all box hair dye use peroxide to lighten your hair, you're using a very high amount on your hair every single time you color it, causing dry and damaged hair. When I do a professional color service, I formulate that color to fit your needs and cause the least amount of damage.

Box dye uses an applicator bottle.

The first thing you do with a box dye is mix the dye in your applicator bottle and then massage it in to your hair. You cover your entire head of hair with damaging dye, so every single time you color your hair you are causing more damage. Unfortunately this damage is irreversible, the only way to get your hair 100% healthy again is to grow it out. It's also very hard to color your own hair, and really easy to achieve uneven and splotchy color.

Box dye is expensive to correct.

I can't tell you how many times someone has sat down in my chair and asked me to take them from box black back to their natural blonde. It's really difficult to fix that, it's a really long process, and it's very very expensive. Not only do you have to lighten the hair 9 levels of color, but you also have to lighten already damaged hair.

We all know you get what you pay for and box dye is no exception. I understand that a lot of people can't afford to color their hair every 6 weeks, but do you really want to submit your hair to that kind of damage? Communicate with your stylist and find something that works for you. They can work with you to find a color that doesn't need to be touched up so frequently, or talk to you about their referral specials and money saving promotions. We all know one size fits all is a myth, it's the same with box hair color...

-Laura

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page